Skip to content

Translation 13

August 18, 2014

Extrait de Somnambule dans Istanbul, Eric Faye, 2012, pp. 13-14

Des années plus tard, un ministre dont l’histoire aura bientôt oublié le nom remit au goût du jour le concept de bon Français et lança un débat sur une identité nationale dont je me moquais comme de colin-tampon. Par ricochet, je m’aperçus cependant que je ne m’étais jamais penché sur la nature de ma propre identité. Jamais je n’avais eu l’idée de remonter jusqu’à sa source, ou plutôt ses sources. Je repensais alors au vieil homme du cercle de jeux. Car la notion d’identité avait à voir, chez moi, comme je le soupçonnais, avec celle de continents perdus que l’on s’échine à retrouver et à préserver en soi, par fidélité à une certaine idée de soi-même, ou pour quelque autre raison que j’ignore, qui a peut-être partie liée avec le mythe de Sisyphe et l’absurdité de la condition humaine.

=

Some years later, a minister whose name history will have soon forgotten lent a modern styling to the notion “a good French citizen” and struck up a debate on a national identity about which I could hardly care more. As if by ricochet, I became aware, however, that I had never looked into the nature of my own identity. Never had it occurred to me to make my way back to its source or, rather, its sources. I thought back on the old man from the gaming circle. For the concept of identity shared something, in my case, as best I could make it out, with that of lost continents which one racks one’s brains to find again and preserve as is, out of loyalty to a certain idea of oneself, or for some other reason unknown to me, which is perhaps linked in part with the myth of Sisyphus and the absurdity of the human condition.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

