Skip to content

Travelogue F10

July 17, 2015

The next morning, I resumed my rambling ways in the downtown, this time with an eye to the architecture. Brick and cut-stone, the city share much with other colonial-era cities. Much seems to have in the years preceding the turn-of-the-century, a period to which I have come back with some regularity, such as the Exchange Block of 1878, whose brick walls are adorned with cast-iron, Italianate corniches, now a story shorter following a 1960’s fire. Looking up and down the same street, I find that other buildings display the same flourishes: window cornices in black or yellow, as well as a cornice verging on fronton in gunmetal grey.

Craftshops are numerous, and I paused some time before a shop touting its skill with reclaimed wood, the logic behind which I am still deciphering. How does one go about reclaiming wood? Does one begin by hunting the wood out in structures abandoned to the elements, such as these barns whose roof farmers merely cut a small hole, rather than tear down? Does one then proceed with a special set of tools, unsuited for working with newer woods? Moreover, I found myself asking, though not of the shopowner, on whom the reclaimer made the claim, be it the owner or the authorities or even the structure from which the wood is to be stripped, and what came away with the wood and the original claim. Without venturing into absurdities, I ask just how far I might take the shop’s motto, “crafted with soul”, a little soul coming away in each reclaiming.

It was that very day that I joined my companion for that week’s travel.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

